Won't be a jiffy
22nd December 2016

Deryn's Digital Assembly Timeline

Rhi LeedamRhi Leedam

Deryn is the largest public affairs consultancy in Wales, bringing together senior level, cross-party experience in campaigning, government relations and politics in Wales. A few years ago, Deryn commissioned Cactus Design to create a graphic of the Welsh assembly members timeline, and it has decorated the walls of the Deryn office and featured throughout their content as a still piece of artwork since.

Deryn approached us with the task of creating a digital version of their assembly members timeline graphic. The digital version has transformed the aesthetically pleasing graphic into an engaging and informative tool while maintaining the artistic integrity of the piece. 

"It’s been a pleasure to see our original infographic being transformed into a great interactive tool – providing information about AM’s, past and present, in a fun and creative way."  - Elin Llŷr from Deryn

How does the infographic work?
The graphic shows every Assembly Member since the advent of the Assembly in 1999. The section closest to the middle shows the 1st Assembly from 1999 to 2003, and then moves outwards in time. It is alphabetic, so start at the top – at 12 o’clock – with Leighton Andrews. He was a Labour AM from 2003 to 2015. Then it’s Mick Antoniw, who joined the 4th Assembly from 2011. The next is Rhun ap Iorwerth, who won a by-election in 2013. Then work all the way around to Leanne Wood, who has represented Plaid Cymru since 2003. Some AMs have crossed the floor – so the colour has changed, or become independent AMs, pictured in grey.

Click here to check out assembly timeline for yourself.